S’mores cupcakes

Yesterday I tried out a new (almost) vegan recipe for cupcakes. These S’mores cupcakes come to you from Pickles & Honey and they turned out pretty well. The cupcake itself wasn’t anything particularly earth-shattering, but combined with the graham cracker and marshmallow frosting, the flavor was strong and rich.

They were quite easy to make, following a fairly regular cupcake recipe. My official taste-tester (aka my husband) said they were a bit dry, and I would have to agree. For my next go around I think I would add a little more applesauce to give the cake a nice, moist, springy taste.

Although the cupcakes themselves need a bit of fine-tuning, the marshmallow frosting hit the mark. I essentially used this recipe from How Sweet it Is, and adjusted the amounts based on what I had around the house. I substituted regular butter for vegan butter (used a little less of it, too) and ended up using about a tablespoon of soy milk. I thought that the frosting would be overwhelmingly vanilla flavored, but the marshmallow and vanilla balanced each other out perfectly. This recipe is definitely one I can see myself using time and time again.

What I did think was really interesting about this whole Saturday baking adventure was the concept of vegan buttermilk. Now, buttermilk is something that I have always avoided because a) it looks and smells weird and b) there is no chance I can eat it. But after a little bit of research, I found out that buttermilk is really just a slightly more acidic form of milk. The acid reacts with the milk to help curdle the milk (I know, gross!) and thicken it.  It makes sense then that by adding a tablespoon or so of apple cider vinegar/lime juice/lemon juice/other acidic liquid to a cup of non-dairy milk and giving the elements time to react, the end result would be buttermilk. I am excited to try out this chemistry-rich magic with other sweet treats (specifically pancakes!)

If you try out the recipe or adapt it for the dairy eaters in your life, let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

